Event, August 28- Write for Peace

We at Sapan, the Southasia Peace Action Network, invite you to participate in a family writing workshop on Sunday, 28 August 2022.

Hosted by Dhaka-based feminist activist Khushi Kabir, this Sapan family literacy night features an exciting multilingual writing workshop by Mohsin Tejani in Karachi and Lee Krishnan in Mumbai.

Taking forward the Sapan tradition, Founding Charter will be presented by Jaffna-based Benislos Thushan, founder, Digital Storytelling Initiative. Journalist Namrata Sharma in Kathmandu will deliver closing remarks at the event.

WRITE FOR PEACE: A Sapan Family Writing Workshop

Date: Sunday 28 August 2022

Time: 10 am ET / 7 pm PKT / 7:30 pm IST / 7:45 pm NPT / 8 pm BST

Duration: 2 hours

About the facilitators: Mohsin Tejani founded the School of Writing, Karachi, in 2010, and is director at Andover Bread Loaf, Massachusetts. Lee Krishnan co-directs the ABL Rising Loaves Summer Programme for middle school students, and teaches at the Diamond Jubilee School, Mumbai. They have been friends since meeting at the Andover Bread Loaf Writing Academy 25 years ago.

The workshop is free for all to attend, with prior registration. Fill this form to express your interest in attending the workshop. We will contact accepted participants with registration details.

Bring a notebook and pen to participate. The focus is on writing, reading, and singing about peace along with creative exercises to engage all family members in productive and entertaining online ‘fam time’.

Here is the event page on Facebook – invite your friends and family to join too!

This is the 14th curated event in the series ‘Imagine! Neighbours in Peace’ by the Southasia Peace Action Network, or Sapan. Earlier events have brought together activists, experts from across Southasia and the diaspora on a wide range of issues. Read more at the Events tab on our website.

About Sapan: Launched in March 2021, the Southasia Peace Action Network, or Sapan, is a coalition of organisations and individuals calling for regional cooperation and freedom of movement in the region.

STYLE NOTE: Writing Sapan like this rather than all caps makes it a word which means ‘dream’. And, borrowing from Himal Southasian, we use ‘Southasia’ as one word, “seeking to restore some of the historical unity of our common living space, without wishing any violence on the existing nation states”.

Follow Sapan on social media: @southasiapeace on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Linkedin and Youtube

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s